21 Years!! My life update!

“I said that time may change me,

But I cant change time.

David Bowie “Changes”

In about an hour and 20 min I will officially be 21 (as I am writing this). For most people this is the age where they think, “Great, you are finally able to legally drink alcohol!” But for me it is about a time of reflection and remembering all of the things I was able to do for myself. I said in my last post that 2017 was going to be the year of having hope and trying new things. I think I was able to accomplish that and do things I thought I would never be able to do.

One of the first things I did out of my comfort zone was run for homecoming queen. This was not something I would have ever thought I would do. I hate talking in front of a small class room, let alone talking in front of a hole crowd of people. I ended up not winning but the experience alone helped my take the first step into trying something new. That is what I took the most out of from the whole experience and I would not trade that from anything.

Another thing I did was volunteer and hike my way to the top. This year, for spring break, I was able to travel to Arkansas and go hiking for the first time while also meeting some amazing new people. The trip taught me a lot about myself and it showed me that doing things out of your comfort zone is not so bad. Usually for spring break I would just go home and spend time with my family, which is always great. But this year I wanted to do something different and help people for my spring break. I had so much fun and would love to do more things like this in the future.

Now that I am turning 21, I feel like I still have so many things to still do in life. These two things I did above were great and I hope to do more things in my future. I want to experience life and not be afraid to ask for what I want. I want my 20’s to be a time that I build my confidence and become the person I have always wanted to be. My hope for my many years to come is that I keep pushing myself and that I never sit on the sidelines again.

So, bottoms up for another great year! (responsibly of course) 🙂

About the post

Things About Me

Leave a Reply

